2017 Amazing Airdrie Women

The 2017 Pharmasave airdrielife Amazing Airdrie Women Awards program wrapped up in style on May 12 with a sold-out luncheon at The Woods.

Just over 140 guests enjoyed being treating as VIPs from the minute they arrived, with custom swag bags, complimentary prosecco and a gourmet lunch. Laughter ensued with comedian Cory Mack and then it was on to the emotional highlight of the day – the presentation of the five awards.

Lovepreet Deo – recipient of the Amazing Courage Award (Spring 2017 cover) dedicated her award to her family and her trainer Dawn Sorsdahl whom she refers to as her guardian angel. Born with cerebral palsy, Lovepreet has raced for the past few years on a custom designed cycle raising thousands of dollars and awareness for the Alberta Cerebral Palsy Association.

The event was especially emotional for Amazing Heart Award recipient Nancy McPhee, who lost her husband Jim only a week prior and dedicated her award to her “Scottish Superman.”

Elena Mitevska received the AWBA Amazing Promise Award, Amanda Delahay the Hassett & Reid Amazing Determination Award, and Lisa Mundell-Lawrence the McKee Amazing Leadership Award. (You can read about all the recipients and nominees at airdrielife.com)

Another highlight of the event was airdrielife’s announcement of the formation of the Anne Beaty Journalism Scholarship. “We lost one of our own amazing women this last year, and together with her family we are happy to start a scholarship in Anne’s memory,” Shaw-Froggatt said. Anne’s daughter Sarah Christie said the first scholarship for $1,000 would be awarded this fall. “Mom loved words and we are happy her legacy can live on in this way.”

Nominations for the 2018 Amazing Airdrie Women are now being accepted.

Filed under: Uncategorised


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Thanks for the feedback!

Back to top