Anne Beaty Memorial Scholarship Awarded to Airdrie Student

The first Anne Beaty Memorial Scholarship for Journalism and Communications was presented Thursday Nov 9, 2017 to Rachel McCarville of Airdrie, a third year Public Relations student at Mount Royal University. McCarville received $1000 towards her education.

Anne Beaty Memorial Scholarship Awarded to Airdrie Student

Sherry Shaw-Froggatt, publisher airdrielife, Jeanne Beaty (Anne’s mom), recipient Rachel McCarville, Sarah Christie (Anne’s daughter) and Derrick Cresswell-Clough TD Bank (with son Dekkie)

“I am incredibly honored to be awarded the Anne Beaty Memorial Scholarship. It is people like Anne that inspire me to be the best student possible and to always value the written word. Although I did not have the pleasure of knowing Anne, her legacy and love of the community has given me a great sense of how amazing she truly was.”

Beaty’s mom Jeanne Beaty, a former journalist, who made the major contribution to the scholarship fund, attended the presentation and was pleased to meet McCarville.  “The scholarship is an airdrielife initiative in Anne’s memory and I support it with enthusiasm. She was a good editor and journalist. Journalism faces many challenges today and since it is one of the hallmarks of a democratic society it needs keen young minds.”

airdrielife publisher Sherry Shaw-Froggatt created the scholarship in memory of Anne Beaty who was the Editor of airdrielife from 2010-2016. Beaty was a respected member of the community and was also a valuable team member of the Airdrie Public Library. Previously, she was Editor of the Airdrie Echo for 14 years.

TD Bank is the scholarship’s official bank and also a donor. Derrick Cresswell-Clough, District Vice-President of TD Canada Trust Alberta South-Central Prairie Region, is proud to support literary programs and feels this scholarship is a perfect fit for the Airdrie branches.

The 2018 Scholarship application is now open click here to apply.

Filed under: Uncategorised


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Thanks for the feedback!

Back to top